Happy Birthday to Me!

Now I realized I’m so selfish. I wanted the attention of others, especially on m birthday.

It was my birthday eve, around 11:30 PM, and I was anxiously waiting for someone to IM and greet me “Happy Birthday” from the Yahoo Messenger. But in my disappointment, nobody did, and I quickly assumed that everybody forgot. It’s just I’m expecting too much that I felt my birthday was already ruined because of that simple thing. I just lately realized how stupid I was.

When I woke up tomorrow morning, I saw my mother cooking spaghetti and my younger brother absorbed in the computer. Then I also realized that no once in my family has greeted me yet, even if my presence is already there. My younger sister didn’t greet me too after waking her up for breakfast. Then we ate our breakfast and it seemed like everybody really forgot how special that day was, until I finally broke up into tears that they realized why my mood was so sour. They said their sorry, and greeted me many times to regain my mood.

I don’t know why but I felt like my chest wanted to burst during the mass. It seemed like my eyes wanted to shed tears. Was I happy because they greeted me? Or because of disappointment? I really didn’t know the reason. But then as the mass went on, I knew that I was happy for being born that day, the same day of the feast of San Lorenzo Ruiz, for being me, and for the love and affection of people around me. That time I became contented, and learned how foolish and selfish I was.

And so, I arrived at my school dormitory, not really expecting someone to greet me. I just thought that they didn’nt know because I also tend to forget other people’s birthdays. But someone knocked at my door and gave me three surprises. The first one was the greeting, the second was a plastic insect which came out  when I pulled a gum. And the third one was a book, and I was very thankful to her for such wonderful gifts.

And so more dormers learned that it was my birthday that day, and they showered me with more greetings. I was very happy in the end. Now I learned not to expect and never assume things so easily.

Leave a Reply

