First Fishing Experience

My very first fishing experience took place when we went to fiesta in Pilar, Bataan. It was my Impo’s house and as usual, there were a lot of visitors.

After we ate lunch, we were invited to go fishing at the back of the house. It was indeed a huge place. There were about three pla-pla fish ponds, each as big as one typical rice field. And the fishponds were located just besides the rice field area. I was very careful when walking at the sidewalks or else I would fall into the murky water.

Then we stayed in the resting area and we were given some fishing poles and baits. The baits were crushed snails.  At first, I was a bit hesitant at putting them at my hook. Eventually, I had to put it myself because I have no choice.

Learning how to use the fishing pole was a piece of cake because I learned it quickly. I began throwing my hook to the place where I saw glimpse of fishes on the water. When I felt the tug on the line or see the bait moving, I didn’t pull the fishing line yet. I waited for some time until I could readily pull the hook from the water. Because of this tactic, I caught more than 10 pla-pla for about 6 hours!

We had a lot of fishes at the end of the day so my mother cooked Pangat and Pinaputok na Pla-pla for dinner.

Leave a Reply

