Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Indeed there is a new season of our all-time favorite anime, Fullmetal Alchemist. I was surprised at first because I wasn’t expecting it. They messed up with Conqueror of Shamballa movie, and I thought that was the end of it.

And now here it is. Of course being a fan of the series and out of curiosity, I watched the first episode.

It was about the Ice Alchemist (I forgot the name) who was a former State Alchemist. He wanted to destroy the army so badly because of the corrupted things happening there, especially because of the Fuhrer. He’s an expert in water alchemy, so much like waterbending in Avatar, and he wanted to bury the headquarters in ice using his skill. Roy Mustang and the army soldiers tried to stop him, especially the Elric Brothers. But then at the end, the Fuhrer killed him effortlessly.

The Ice Alchemist
Ice Alchemist

I must say the new series is much better than I expected. It has more humour in it, more jokes about Ed’s height and Al being mistaken as the Fullmetal Alchemist. And after seeing this episode, I can conclude that they are really  making a whole new plot. Many said that it would be based on manga this time, and I think they were right because there’s no sense if they would just remake the last series.

The second episode was about Ed and Al’s human transmutation and how Ed became a State Alchemist.  I just watched it recently, and it was better and less serious than the last series.

Al being taken away as a consequence
Al being taken away as consequence
Ed at the State Alchemist test
Ed at the State Alchemist test

The third episode will be about Ed and Al going to Lior; where they heard about a priest performing miracles. Just the same thing as the old one, but I hope it’s better.

The opening also rocks, “Again” by YUI. I am a fan of YUI’s songs, especially her “Goodbye Days” featured in the Japanese movie “Taiyou no Uta”. I’m very glad to hear her song in my favorite anime. Video by AnimeMusix.

I will be watching this series until its completion.

Leave a Reply

