So Long, Farewell

August 30, 2009

News about the sudden and unexpected death of our dear Ma’am Paz spread out like fire in the internet. At first, I didn’t believe it. It was just a big  joke,  I told myself.  Or maybe I just read it wrongly, it could have been another person. And when I confirmed it, I was completely shocked that I  stared at  my monitor blankly for a few seconds, absorbing the idea of her death.

Many cried right after they heard it. But I didn’t. I just could not believe it. Or maybe I just could not accept it. As long as I have not seen her body, I would still believe that she’s still there.

And when I attended the wake, I saw her pale body lying still inside the coffin. She couldn’t be the lady inside, I thought. She would always do her makeup lightly, compared to the heavy makeup applied on her face now.

Only then I realized and accepted the painful truth during the mass, when her mother elaborated how she became her strength and how this strength suddenly disappeared. I didn’t know she lived in such a hard and difficult life, from a poor family living in a squatter’s house. She always smiled for us; she always wore cute and adorable fashion; she always taught us with eagerness about World History; and she always told us lots of her corny jokes And this seemingly cheerful and fun-loving person was suddenly gone now, and forever.

Her loss gave us a meaningful lesson. Life is short; we should live it to the fullest, touching others’ lives and doing each of our own Personal Legend. In case of Ma’am Paz, I’m sure she made quite a beautiful legend.

I’m pretty sure she found her sweet paradise in heaven and in comfort together with God Almighty. I wish her a blissful eternity. Goodbye and thank you, Ma’am Paz.

And so I’d like to share this meaningful quote from Chrono Cross.

What was the start of all this?
When did the cogs of fate begin to turn?

Perhaps it is impossible to grasp that answer now,
from deep within the flow of time…

But, for the certainty, back then,
we loved so many, yet hated so much,
we hurt others and we hurt ourselves…

Yet even then, we ran like the wind,
whilst our laughter echoed,
under the cerulean skies…

Thus the curtain closes on another tale.

An eternity has passed…
Fleeting dreams fade into the distance…
All that is left now
is me and my memories…

But i’m sure we’ll meet again,
someday, you and i…
Another place, another time.

It’s just that we might not realise
that you are you and i am me…

Let us open the door to the great unknown,
come across another reality,
and live another today…
Even when the story has been told,
life goes on…

Until we meet again,
take care of yourself, my friend…

Leave a Reply

