Disheartened

I haven’t been very disheartened in my whole college life. And I have to sign every time I remember those disappointing moments even though I already tried hard to sweep them off my head. First, I was not able to do my best in my last three consecutive exams. Second, I was partly responsible for not doing a scheduled laboratory activity which made our professor angry. And to add into that, our group forgot to do yet another task which I am again responsible in assigning. This again, made our professor angry (I think). I have never made a professor very disappointed. And I am very much disappointed and disheartened with myself as well. I could have done a better job. These things may not sound enough for others to lose one’s spirit though. Maybe because I’m very much used to having my ideals and plans go the way I wanted them to be.

But of course I know that I shouldn’t be disheartened with these trifle things. I am pretty sure there are many more difficult times ahead. In meteorologist’s context, this is just a mere low pressure area compared to a devastating super typhoon.

And just before I made this post, I remember a beautiful poem I had to memorize in one of my CAT training sessions in my high school days. It’s title is “Don’t Quit”.

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will.
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill.
When the funds are low and the debts are high.
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh.
When care is pressing you down a bit.
Rest, if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns.
As every one of us sometimes learns.
And many a failure turns about
When he might have won had he stuck it out:
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow—
You may succeed with another blow.

Success is failure turned inside out—
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt.
And you never can tell how close you are.
It may be near when it seems so far:
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit—
It’s when things seem worst that you
Must not quit.

What a beautiful poem. Anyway, I should also remember to be like a child. When a child falls, he cries. And quickly and trustingly, he accepts a helping hand from an adult; and he stops crying. Just soon after that, he already runs again freely as if nothing happened; the fall already forgotten.

Just now I realized, writing down this post has eased my spirit a little. For now I am listening to the soothing and happy instrumental songs of DEPAPEPE to raise my morale. And I should always remember that whatever happens, I am still God’s daughter child.

Oh yeah, one more thing. FLOW! (take from one of DEPAPEPE’s song). Just like water which does not stop trickling down, even to the tiniest crevices of the biggest and toughest rocks in the river until it reaches the sea.

Leave a Reply

