Go-en Ramen

My ramen buddies and I thought of eating ramen somewhere near our place (unlike Makati) so we found this ramen restaurant quietly tucked along the Sgt. Esguerra Ave. near Edsa. Go-en ramen’s location is not particularly accessible but we were still determined to go since we haven’t seen each other for a long time. It has a rather nice and homey atmosphere. I think the owner of the restaurant is also very fond of the hammer-shaped Japanese toy with ball attached to a string (forgot the name) because there were lots in display.

So we ordered right away. I had cheese-miso ramen while my friends had burnt shiyo ramen. I was instructed not to mix the cheese right away but allow it to slowly melt in my soup as I eat. The cheese-miso ramen also comes with soft-boiled egg, bean sprouts, ground beef (beneath the mound of cheese) and corn. Meanwhile, the burnt shiyo ramen comes with soft-boiled egg, menma (bamboo shoots), naruto (fish cake), char siu slices and nori (seaweed).

The ramen set is complete with appetizer side dish (small sweetened fish with sesame seeds), iced green tea and one scoop of vanilla ice cream. We weren’t expecting it coming, especially the ice cream so we were overjoyed. I was so full that I didn’t finish my share of gyoza and also had my leftover ramen packed. Still we had a wonderful time. I’ll definitely come back when I have the time (and money).

Leave a Reply

