Awaji-shima (淡路島) and Akashi Kaikyou O-hashi (明石海峡大橋)

I was able to participate in a subsidized study tour organized by the Graduate School of Biotudies, Kyoto University targeted for the international students. The tour was destined to Awaji Island by crossing the famous Akashi Kaikyou Bridge connecting the island to the mainland Kobe. We had a fantastic view of the sea, or maybe I was exaggerating it, because it’s been a while since I’ve seen one. I miss the smell and color of the sea!

The main goal of the tour was to learn how to make the Japanese thick chewy noodle “udon”. I actually like udon very much so I was very glad to make our own handmade noodles (although the staff made the dipping broth). The secret for the chewy consistency is kneading the dough several times by stepping on it! Then we cut the dough to 4-mm thick using a cool-looking knife.

After making and eating udon, we went again to the famous bridge and there was a promenade park underneath the structure. I have a bit of fear of heights so I had trouble looking below the glass pane overlooking the sea below. Then we went home after sunset.

That trip was certainly relaxing since I have nothing to do and worry about anything. But one thing I realized is that Kyoto is still more beautiful..

dsc09532

dsc09536

dsc09539

dsc09540

dsc09558

dsc09566

dsc09564

dsc09569

dsc095851

dsc09587dsc09591

dsc09594

dsc095801

dsc09597

Leave a Reply

