Archive

Daily Archives: April 26, 2020

I hardly listened to classical music before. Although I love listening to instrumental music like Celtic and other folk music, for some reasons, classical music just didn’t enter my radar. But not until last year.

It started when I first heard of Japanese violinist Sayaka Shoji’s Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto on Youtube. For some reason, I really liked it (and I still do) that I listened over and over again. Soon I was browsing for more videos of her on Youtube that I got to know more violin concertos and repertoires.

Then I learned about the Australian Youtuber violinist duo “TwoSet Violin”. Viola jokes aside, I started to appreciate classical music even more and even get to learn bits of music jargon every time I watch their videos. I actually used to play a Filipino rondalla instrument so I can relate to some stuff sometimes.

Then came the symphonies and piano repertoires. The more I looked, the more I discovered the fine musicians out there. And the great composers of the past as well. As for me, I do have certain preferences in compositions and interpretations. For compositions, I generally like the works of Bach, Brahms, Debussy, and Prokofiev. For musicians, I like Sayaka Shoji, Tifanny Poon (pianist), and Klaus Mäkelä  (conductor).

I also started attending concerts recently. Last summer, I went to Tokyo just to see Sayaka Shoji’s performance together with Polish conductor Krzysztof Penderecki. I also went to Hyogo to see again Sayaka Shoji’s performance but this time with Finnish conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen. I was also into Klaus Mäkelä’s Shostakovich Symphony No. 7 lately (in Youtube) that when I learned that he will conduct this in Tokyo, I bought the ticket right away even though it’ll be on a weekday. Sadly with the pandemic going on, the concert was cancelled.

DSC_2667

So for now, I’ll dwell into classical music to help me this difficult and uncertain times. Sigh. That reminds me, the musicians are also having a tough time..